Tuesday, 2 July 2013


    Kangaroos are found in Australia and Tansmania. There are four types the kangaroo can be divided into: the red kangaroo, eastern grey kangaroo, western grey kangaroo and the antilopine kangaroo.
   Kangaroos are the largest living marsupials in the family macropodidae.
   Kangaroos can live in forests, woodlands, grassy plains or Savannas. Kangaroos travel in what's called "mobs" dominated by the largest male.
   Kangaroos are herbivores and they can last many days without drinking water.
   Males are called boomers, bucks or jacks and females are called does, flyers or jills. Young kangaroos are called joeys.

                Did you know?
1. Baby kangaroos can be as small as a lima bean!
2. They are the only large animals to use hoping as locomotion.
3. Because of their huge feet, they cannot walk.

Monday, 1 July 2013

Glass Frogs

Glass frogs are part of the amphibian family. There are more than 100 species of glass frogs and they belong to the family Centrolenidae. Their back is usually light green in colour, but it's the stomach that's the interesting part. They generally have translucent skin, hence the name, and their entrails such as the heart and liver are visible through the belly of the frog.
Underside of the glass frog
Glass frogs are also very small, approximately 3 to 7.5 cm in lenght. Unlike the tree frog, which they are similar in appearance to, glass frogs have eyes facing to the front. Their eyes are also very bright, and this could help you greatly to distinguish it from other species.
Some scientists believe that the glass frog evolved it's transparent stomach for camouflage reasons - it's near to impossible to see them perched on a tree far away!
Glass frog on a leaf
 They are nocturnal creatures and are very active at night and spend the day sleeping - as is expected of nocturnal animals!They can be found sleeping in thick forest foliage and vegetation. The glass frog's most frequent foraging times are the evening and early morning.
The glass frog eats spiders and insects, for which the forward-facing eyes are an advantage. They hold their mouths wide open and pounce on their prey when time is right.
The glass frog lives in tropical forests and can be found in Central or South America. They also live in rivers, creeks and waterfalls.
Personally, I think these creatures are very amazing, and definitely deserve a place in our blog - it's not often you can see a creature's intestines!

No image belong to me, only to their respective authors.
Well, I hope you enjoyed this and found out more about the glass frog, and see you soon for another update!